#1 2015-06-25 17:59:24

Leslie7

crossplatform

Hi,

I have been keeping an eye on mORMot for a few years. The latest improvements (crossplatform, websockets, the way the interface based callbacks are implemented, live replication ...) made it the most promising contender for my next project and hopefully more. I am in the phase of exploring, testing and benchmarking.

XE8 :  Win32
         Android
         (IOS)

CodeTyphon 5.30:
       Kubuntu 14.04
       Win32
       Android
       (IOS)

mORMot latest from GitHub

A few questions:

1.  IOS is also planned target, but cannot test it yet. What are prospects for the   client/embedded server being production ready for mobile?

2. mORMot server for Linux?

3. Websocket support is not crossplatform yet. I would count on it for mobile clients as well. What can we  expect/hope for?

4. The XE8 linker fails for Android target with an unusal errror:
    E2597 terminate called after throwing an instance of 'St9bad_alloc'what():  std::bad_alloc

5. CodeTyphon compilation is broken (v5.30)

6. The closest thing to IOCP on Linux is EPOLL. Is it on the radar?

The more I dig into mORMot  the more impressed I am. If the latest improvements become production ready it will have all the features in a single product I was looking for. Which is amazing in the Delphi-Freepascal world. The documentaion is very useable as well.

Thansk for this great product,
Leslie

Last edited by Leslie7 (2015-06-25 18:08:21)

#2 2015-06-26 07:03:14

ab
Administrator
Website

Re: crossplatform

1. AFAIK iOS was reported to work with CrossPlatform clients.
But there is no attempt on my side to make it work with FPC and the main mORMot units.
The Android tests were made by Alf.
We do not need it here: we use HTML5 clients (with PhoneGap), either using AngularJS or SmartMobileStudio, and it is very efficient.

2. It works well, but here we focus on using Kylix instead of FPC as compiler, due to FPC limitations about interface RTTI.