#1 2013-01-11 15:28:42

OlliWW
Member
Registered: 2013-01-11
Posts: 5

PDF Engine and FastReport

Hi,

I'm trying to export FastReports to PDF Files with Synopse PDF Engine. I've implemented that code:
http://synopse.info/forum/viewtopic.php?id=781

but i does not work completely. It exports some MemoViews from FastReport, and some not.

I've read a lot in this forum and found that topic:
http://synopse.info/forum/viewtopic.php?id=609

That is about invalid metafile-parts. May that is my problem?

Can you give me a little advice where to start searching for a solution?

Offline

#2 2013-01-11 17:07:24

ab
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 14,242
Website

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

Current revision of SynPdf has a lot of improvements, in last few weeks.

Ensure you did retrieve the latest "unstable" version from http://synopse.info/fossil

Offline

#3 2013-01-12 15:05:33

OlliWW
Member
Registered: 2013-01-11
Posts: 5

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

Great works ALMOST perfect.

Two small pieces are missing:
1.) In my Test-Reports are MemoViews with a border. If I have a "normal" memoview: black font, white (none) background the black borders are displayed correct. If i choose a grey background the borders are missing.
2.) I'm using a narrowed font type, so the letters are very close to each other, the letters in the resulting pdf are not as close as in the original. tried "embedding fonts" with no sucess. At the moment i'm using Gnostice eDoc Engine, there was the same problem, they have a property like "use char spacing" what has to be false, is there something similar in your PDF Engine?

Offline

#4 2013-01-12 18:45:26

ab
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 14,242
Website

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

1) I do not know exact from what it comes from.
Perhaps the pen width, for the borders.

2) SynPDF does not use individual char spacing, but global width spacing, to ensure you can copy & paste the content, and reduce the file size.
It is a new feature, to be added. But some code refactoring is needed, and won't be compatible with UniScribe support.

Offline

#5 2013-01-13 13:59:42

OlliWW
Member
Registered: 2013-01-11
Posts: 5

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

ab wrote:

1) I do not know exact from what it comes from.
Perhaps the pen width, for the borders.

The funny thing is:
The only difference is the background color. The pensize is the same, with none background the border is there, with grey not.

Offline

#6 2013-01-25 13:12:07

OlliWW
Member
Registered: 2013-01-11
Posts: 5

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

Hi again,

I solved it with a workarround, i found out if the type of the frame border is "fsSolid" then (with another Background Color than clNone) the border isn't printed. If i change the typ to "fsSquare" it works.

So this works for me:
      if TfrxView(Obj).Frame.Style = fsSolid then
      begin
        TfrxView(Obj).Frame.Style := fsSquare;
      end;
      TfrxView(Obj).Draw(PdfDocument.VCLCanvas , FDiv, FDiv, 0, FYOffset);


@ab:
Is there anything i can do about the char-spacing? That's the only thing left to use synopse in my applications. It would be very nice, because i need that PDF-A Format for FastReport, no other PDF-Export can do that except yours.

Last edited by OlliWW (2013-01-25 13:13:07)

Offline

#7 2013-01-25 15:06:14

ab
Administrator
From: France
Registered: 2010-06-21
Posts: 14,242
Website

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

I've created a dedicated ticket to implement this.
See http://synopse.info/fossil/tktview/7d6a3a3f0f4d

Does the feature request matches your expectations?

Offline

#8 2013-01-25 18:24:41

OlliWW
Member
Registered: 2013-01-11
Posts: 5

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

Perfect thank you very much.

Offline

#9 2013-02-15 17:02:06

tracy108
Member
Registered: 2013-02-15
Posts: 3

Re: PDF Engine and FastReport

How to use delphi code to call fastreport to export PDF using SynPDF?
Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB