#1 2016-12-20 20:39:30

DavidRM

mORMot Use Case Question

I'm very new to mORMot, so I'm still trying to wrap my head around some of it. And that includes trying to envision how I might build my next project using the framework.

What I envision is a server, with a central database of mounted databases. Though separate, each database uses the same model. That includes the same table names, schema, etc.

A client gets the list of databases from the server (which seems a simple enough model), picks one (or more), and links to it (them).

So there's a central model, which is the available databases (and whatever user/auth or additional information seems useful).

But there's also a model that encompasses what's in a mounted database. And possibly more than one of these active at a time. And, if possible, it might be fun to perform queries across all of them.

Is it possible to do that within a single server? And using the ORM features?

Forgive me if this is vague. I'm trying to keep from getting too bogged in the details.

Thanks!

-David

#2 2016-12-20 21:27:39

mpv
Website

Re: mORMot Use Case Question

See Multiple databases in one Mormot server for similar discussion

Last edited by mpv (2016-12-20 21:28:45)

#3 2016-12-20 21:38:05

DavidRM

I will. Thanks!

-David

#4 2016-12-20 22:00:37

DavidRM

mpv wrote:

That didn't answer my questions. Also, my case is nowhere near that extreme. At most a dozen external databases, and that's on the long side.

Of course, I'm not even sure if I'm asking the right question.

I'm looking at multiple collections of object models, each tied to a separate database on the server. That is, one set of models tied to the main server (the collection of databases), and a set per open database.

Is that doable in a single client connected to a single server? And can I still use the ORM features?

Thanks.

-David

#5 2016-12-21 00:22:54

erick

DavidRM wrote:
mpv wrote: