#1 2012-08-28 21:55:38

stijnsanders
Website

xxm: an alternative platform to build dynamic websites with Delphi

Arnaud invited me to post an entry on the forum here so we could all discuss. I'd like to hear what you think.

After I graduated I did some work in PHP, ASP, Cold Fusion and it struck me that the code you write would be processed over and over by a scripting engine. Compared to the speed of the Delphi compiler and the power of native code, a lot of resources and performance is lost that way.
The years that followed I did ISAPI and raw HTTP with Delphi. When I also got an implementation of Internet Explorer's IInternetProtocol working, I started a project that allows to have HTML and Pascal code in the same files, and have the Delphi compiler build an updated DLL that hosts the website. The development version checks the source-code for changes so you can run the updated code by hitting refresh in a browser, the 'live' version takes the resulting library to run the website with IIS, Apache, or plain raw HTTP over a TCP socket.

http://xxm.sourceforge.net/

It's specifically non-RAD and doesn't integrate with an IDE. It started from the belief that decent web-coding is done by hand (i.e. notepad, or a derivative like notepad++,emacs,vim) so you can avoid having obscure layers spew ugly HTML, and have full control of the code that a client browsers gets to process.
It is better to compare it to the PHP project in its early days. It offers close access to the inner workings of the web-server to a coding environment you get control of.
This allows for far greater things,
in the PHP realm there's WordPress, Drupal, Typo3, Joomla...
in the xxm realm, well, I'm reaching out to other people that also subscribe to the close-to-code web-dev vision and have good knowledge of non-IDE Delphi code, with little success.

I look forward to hear about your thoughts, idea's, impressions.
Greetings
Stijn Sanders

Last edited by stijnsanders (2012-08-28 21:57:04)