#1 2015-04-01 12:13:59

Amir

Track change-type (Add/Update/Delete) of records when replication...

Hi dear Arnaud,

Thanks for implementing the great master/slave replication feature.

I've recently downloded the latest repository and I'd like to use it as main backend in my current project, with this I need to manage a list of products to report and highlight new and/or updated items to the end users (Clients), as appropriate. As far as I studied the correspondig ducumenation, I could not find out how to reflect the change-type applied to a record; for example, I need to know which items are new to my client(s) and which comes as updates.
It would be very helpful for me and also for same scenarios, if you provide such feature or if currently available let me know how to get it used.

As a simple proposal, it would be nice if you let an optional callback parameter in "TSQLRestClient.RecordVersionSynchronize" which receives the "new" (recently retreived from master) and "old" (available with the current processing slave) "TSQLRecordVersion"s, and for new records the old-version value could be set to TSQLRecord(-1) for example; and for deleted records, implementing a new method which lets the clients fetch deleted item-IDs for any TSQLRecord (which directly queries the dedicated deletion-track table; i.e: "TSQLRecordTableDelete", if necessary) seems enough.

Thanks for your great work.

Last edited by Amir (2015-04-01 12:16:57)

Amir

#2 2015-04-01 14:01:44

ab
Administrator
Website

Re: Track change-type (Add/Update/Delete) of records when replication...

Does make sense!

I've added a new TSQLRestServer.RecordVersionSynchronizeToBatch() OnWrite optional parameter.
See http://synopse.info/fossil/info/479216ff93

Thanks for the feedback!

#3 2015-04-02 06:39:26

Amir

Thank you very much for this and also for the great "TSQLRestServer.RecordVersionSynchronizeCallback()" feature.

Amir

#4 2015-04-02 07:15:08

ab
Administrator
Website

Amir wrote: